Parque Aventura Boca de Túnel – Action in Aguascalientes

Beginning of 2020 I visited the Parque Aventura Boca de Túnel near Aguascalientes. There you can find an action parcours around a dam with zip lines and elements of a high rope garden. A trip for brave persons and action lovers.

This article is also available in English!

How the time passes: Beginning of March, short before the pandemic hit Mexico, I visited the Parque Aventura Boca de Túnel in Aguascalientes with a friend. The park was a recommendation of a colleague from work and looked pretty amazing on the internet. We took around two hours to get there and decided to take the road towards Zacatecas fort he way the park. On the way back we made a stop in Aguasclientes and returned from there. You should plan around 3-4 h for the big parcours in Boca de Túnel and you shouldn´t be scared of heights^^. Via several climbing and zip line elements you will make your tour to the dam. From there you will return with boats to the beginning. According to the webpage the park reopened on 26.06., but it´s better if you call them before your visit.

The best travel guide for your trip through Mexico*.


(Advertisement)

 

How to get there

From San Luis Potosí

From San Luis Potosí you can reach the adventure park either via Aguascalientes (road toll, not that good roads) or via the route to Zacatecas (without road toll, good roads, about 10 minutes longer). If you decide for the road via Aguascalientes you need to leave San Luis Potosí to the east via the new build highway near Villa Magna and follow the road direction Guadalajara. After a while you will arrive to the road 80, which you will follow to Ojuelos de Jalisco. Here you need to change onto the 70 in direction Aguascalientes. Short after entering the city you need to follow the signs to Zacatecas - you will drive on a city ring (Avenida Aguascalientes), which you will leave in the north onto 45 towards Zacatecas. Near Pabellón de Arteaga you need to leave the 45 in direction east onto the 19 to San José de Gracia. About 3 km before the village you will turn a right towards north on the 38 and a bit later on the 123 (here you will find signs to the park). If you want you can also continue to San José de Gracia - there you can find a bis Jesus statue on an island. Boats regularly leave to bring tourists there.

If you decide for the route via Zacatecas you need to leave San Luis Potosí in direction north east (Mexquitic, Zacatecas) and follow the street 49 for 133 km (good road conditions, no road toll - but you should be careful: federals are checking the speed limit from time to time). After the 133 km drive onto the 144 and later 45 direction Aguascalientes. Short before Rincón de Romos drive right onto the 70. This street will bring you to the 119 which leads into the 123. From there you can follow the signs.

 

Via airplane

You won´t believe it, but Aguascalientes has an international airport which has direct flights to 9 other airports! From Dallas, Los Angeles, Houston, Cancún, Mexico-City, Chicago, Monterrey, Puerto Vallarta and Tijuana you can arrive direct here. Unfortunately the airport is located south of the city - so you need to drive first via the 70 into the city, then follow the city ring (see via Aguascalientes above).

Zacatecas also has an international airport (north of the city^^). Direct flights are available from Chicago, Dallas, Los Angeles, Mexico-City, San Jose (USA) and Tijuana. From the airport you need to follow the 45 and later 45D direction south. The rest is the same like mentioned before (route via Zacatecas).

As an alternative you can also use the airports San Luis Potosí or León (but then you need to drive a bit more). Cheap flights you can find at Opodo*. A rental car* you will definitely need because there is almost no public transport (only some booked tours).


(Advertisement)

 

Accomodation

Adventure fans can stay at the location in the Campamento Suskaá (reservation only by phone, +52-449-119-0252) - the rooms are basic, but there is a pool^^. Since you will need for the park only about 3-4 h you should better look for a stay in Aguascalientes or Zacatecas, since there is more to see. Both cities provide some interesting activities, but Zacatecas has definitely much more to offer. Aguascalientes is interesting during the time of the Feria San Marco, the biggest folk festival in Mexico (this year unfortunately cancelled due to Covid, but last year it was a great party, much bigger and better than e.g. Oktoberfest - since you can also do party with a lower budget here).

Recommendations for Zacatecas:

  • Quinta Real Zacatecas*: An amazing hotel, built around an old bull fight arena. It´s a bit pricier, but definitely worth it. If you rather stay somewhere cheaper you should at least make a stop at their restaurant - the view is beautiful.
  • Budget-Option: Hotel Reyna Soledad*: Located in the center of the city, with parking place and nice patio.

More Hotels:*



Booking.com

Receommendations for Aguascalientes:

  • Fiesta Americana*: Nice hotel with perfect location, big pool and good service.
  • Budget-Option: Hotel Parga*: Located directly in the center, with parking place and good value for the money.

 

Parque Aventura Boca de Túnel

After you arrived you need to go to the tourist information next to the parking place. In the small house you need to give you contact details (in case of an accident). You can decide between a short tour (2 suspension bridges, 1 zipline, Guide, return trip via boat for 200 Peso) or a long tour (13 suspension bridges, 2 ziplines, guide, return trip via boat for 400 Peso). Since you are already here you should of course go for the long tour. After the payment you will receive a helmet, a belt with carabiners and gloves. Please check that you´ve received two different gloves - my colleagues received two gloves for the left hand, so we needed to turn one of them inside out which was quite difficult (we didn´t want to return to the tourist information).

Perfect for small tours or travels without luggage:*

There are different kinds of obstacles - suspension bridges, a rope to balance, a zipline or others. Everybody who was in a high rope garden before knows the procedure - you have normally two carabiners which you will attach one after another at and between the obstacles so you are always secured with at least one of them. Equipment and park are in good shape and at almost all obstacles another guide is giving advice and help.

At the end of the parcours you will reach the dam. Here you can take nice pictures - the stone formations are really beautiful! You will return via small rowboats which are operated by two guides and which were loaded over the limit when we were there (we were almost sitting in the water^^...).

For the best pictures and videos of your trip - now on offer:*

Short summary:

 

Nearby

  • La Quemada: Nice small archaeological site south of Zacatecas, worth a short trip
  • Zacatecas: Capital of the state Zacatecas; a visit is woth it - there is a very good museum in a mine (definitely take the tour; saturday nights a club opens in the mine), a funicular over the city up to the Cerro de la Brufa, interesting museums and a lot of flair.
  • Aguascalientes: Capital of the state Aguascalientes, there are some good museums but the city is mostly worth it because of the Feria San Marcos.

Cooking like a Mexican:*

 

Conclusion Parque Aventura Boca de Túnel

Boca de Túnel is worth a day trip on the weekend or together with La Quemada and Zacatecas. The climbing is demanding and not recommended for persons with fear of heights. You should arrive early (especially because some people to take selfies everywhere and there are almost no possibilities to get past). I really enjoyed the tour and actually felt some fear before one or another obstacle^^.

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By using the comment area you accept the Privacy Policy !

Parque Aventura Boca de Túnel – Action in Aguascalientes

Anfang 2020 war ich mit einem Freund im Parque Aventura Boca de Túnel bei Aguascalientes. Hier gibt es einen Actionparcours entlang einer Talsperre mit Ziplines und Elementen aus einem Hochseilgarten. Etwas für Mutige und für Actionfreunde.

This article is also available in English!

Wie die Zeit vergeht: Anfang März, kurz bevor die Pandemie auch Mexiko erreichte, war ich mit einem Freund im Parque Aventura Boca de Túnel bei Aguascalientes. Der Park wurde uns von einem Arbeitskollegen empfohlen und sah auf den Bildern im Internet sehr interessant aus. Die Anreise dauerte etwa zwei Stunden – wir entschieden uns auf dem Hinweg Richtung Zacatecas zu fahren, auf dem Rückweg haben wir noch einen kurzen Stopp in Aguascalientes eingelegt und sind von dort aus heim gefahren. Für Boca de Túnel solltet ihr 3-4 h einplanen und keine Höhenangst haben. Über etliche Kletterelemente und Ziplines geht es zur Staumauer der Talsperre und von dort aus mit einem Boot zurück. Laut der Webpage hat der Park seit dem 26.06. wieder geöffnet, aber ruft am besten vorher mal an.

Der beste Reiseführer für eure Mexiko-Reise*.


(Anzeige)

 

Anreise

Von San Luis Potosí aus

Von San Luis Potosí aus könnt ihr den Abenteuerpark entweder über Aguascalientes (mit Maut, nicht so schöne Straßen) oder über die Route nach Zacatecas (ohne Maut, gut ausgebaut, ca. 10 Minuten länger) erreichen. Falls ihr euch für die Strecke über Aguascalientes entscheidet, müsst ihr San Luis Potosí im Osten auf dem neu gebauten Highway bei Villa Magna verlassen und der Straße in Richtung Guadalajara folgen. Ihr kommt nach einer Weile auf die Bundesstraße 80, welcher ihr bis nach Ojuelos de Jalisco folgt. Hier wechselt ihr auf die 70 in Richtung Aguascalientes. Kurz nach Stadteingang folgt ihr der Beschilderung nach Zacatecas – ihr kommt auf einen Stadtring (Avenida Aguascalientes), welchen ihr im Norden auf die Bundesstraße 45 in Richtung Zacatecas verlasst. Bei Pabellón de Arteaga verlasst ihr die 45 in Richtung Osten auf die 19 in Richtung San José de Gracia. Etwa 3 Km vor dem Dorf biegt ihr nach Norden auf die 38 ab und dann etwas später auf die 123 (ab hier sollte der Park ausgeschildert sein). Übrigens könnt ihr auch bis nach San José de Gracias fahren – dort gibt es eine große Jesus-Statue auf einer Insel, die mit Booten angefahren wird.

Entscheidet ihr euch für die Strecke über Zacatecas, verlasst ihr San Luis Potosí in Richtung Nordosten (Mexquitic, Zacatecas) und folgt der Bundesstraße 49 für 133 km (gut ausgebaute Straße, keine Maut – aber bitte aufpassen: Federales kontrollieren hier die Geschwindigkeit sporadisch). Danach biegt ihr nach Süden auf die 144 und später 45 in Richtung Aguascalientes ab. Kurz vor Rincón de Romos biegt ihr nach rechts auf die 70. Diese bringt euch zur Bundesstraße 119, welche in die 123 mündet, ab hier ist es ausgeschildert.

 

Per Flugzeug

Ihr werdet es kaum glauben, aber Aguascalientes hat einen internationalen Flughafen, der von 9 verschiedenen Flughäfen direkt angeflogen wird! Von Dallas, Los Angeles, Houston, Cancún, Mexiko-Stadt, Chicago, Monterrey, Puerto Vallarta und Tijuana könnt ihr einfliegen. Dummerweise liegt er südlich der Stadt, sodass ihr erst auf der Bundesstraße 70 in die Stadt fahren müsste und dann dem Stadtring folgen könnt (siehe Anreise via Aguascalientes oben).

Zacatecas hat ebenfalls einen internationalen Airport (nördlich der Stadt^^). Direkflüge gibt es hier von Chicago, Dallas, Los Angeles, Mexiko-Stadt, San Jose (USA) und Tijuana. Vom Flughafen aus folgt ihr der 45 und später 45D in Richtung Süden, danach gleiche Anreise wie oben bereits beschrieben (via Zacatecas).

Alternativ könnt ihr auch die Flughäfen San Luis Potosí oder León ansteuern (dann aber weitere Fahrt). Günstige Flüge findet ihr bei Opodo*. Einen Mietwagen* braucht ihr unbedingt, da es kaum Nahverkehr gibt (höchstens eine gebuchte Tour).


(Anzeige)

 

Übernachtung

Abenteuerlustige können vor Ort im Campamento Suskaá übernachten (Buchung nur telefonisch möglich, +52-449-119-0252) – die Unterkünfte sind recht einfach, jedoch gibt es einen Pool. Da ihr für den Park aber nur 3-4 h braucht, lohnt sich eine Übernachtung hier meiner Meinung nach kaum. Ihr solltet euch eher für die Weiterfahrt nach Aguascalientes oder Zacatecas entscheiden. Beide Städte haben einiges zu bieten, wobei Zacatecas definitiv schönere und deutlich mehr Sehenswürdigkeiten hat. Aguascalientes lohnt sich vor allem in der Zeit der Feria San Marcos, dem größten Volksfest Mexikos (dieses Jahr leider aufgrund von Covid ausgefallen, vergangenes Jahr war es aber eine tolle Party – größer und besser als bspw. Oktoberfest, da man hier auch mit schmalem Geldbeutel Spaß haben kann).

Empfehlungen Zacatecas:

  • Quinta Real Zacatecas*: Ein traumhaftes Hotel, gebaut um eine alte Stierkampfarena. Übernachten ist hier ein wenig teurer, lohnt sich jedoch. Falls ihr euch lieber für eine Budget-Version entscheidet, solltet ihr dennoch hier vorbeischauen und etwas im Restaurant essen – der Blick ist wirklich toll.
  • Budget-Option: Hotel Reyna Soledad*: Direkt im Zentrum, mit Parkplatz und schicken Patio.

Weitere Hotels:*



Booking.com

Empfehlungen Aguascalientes:

  • Fiesta Americana*: Name ist Programm – schickes Hotel mit super Lage, großem Pool und tollem Service.
  • Budget-Option: Hotel Parga*: Direkt im Zentrum, mit Parkplatz und guter Preis-Leistung.

 

Parque Aventura Boca de Túnel

Nachdem ihr angekommen seid, müsst ihr euch zur Touristeninfo neben dem Parkplatz begeben. In dem kleinen Haus werden eure Daten aufgenommen (Kontaktinformationen für den Notfall) und ihr könnt zwischen einer kurzen Tour (2 Hängebrücken, 1 Zipline, Guide, Rücktransport mit Boot für 200 Peso) und einer langen Tour (13 Hängebrücken, 2 Ziplines, Guide und Rücktransport mit Boot für 400 Peso) wählen. Wenn ihr schon schon einmal hier seid, solltet ihr euch natürlich das komplette Programm gönnen. Nach Bezahlung erhaltet ihr einen Helm, einen Gürtel mit Karabinern zum einhängen und Handschuhe. Bitte prüft gleich, ob ihr zwei verschiedene Handschuhe habt – mein Kollege bekam zwei linke Handschuhe und wir mussten dann bei Beginn des Parcours den einen mühsam von innen nach außen wenden^^ (wir wollten nicht nochmal umkehren).

Ideal für unterwegs oder auf Flugreisen ohne Gepäck:*

Die Hindernisse sind verschiedenster Art – mal ist es eine Hängebrücke, mal ein Seil zum Balancieren, eine Zipline oder ähnliches. Wer schon einmal in einem Hochseilgarten war, der kennt das Prozedere – man hat in der Regel zwei Karabiner, die man nacheinander an und zwischen den Hindernissen einhängt, sodass man immer mindestens mit einem gesichert ist, während der andere an eine neue Position angebracht wird. Die Anlage und das Equipment sind gut gewartet und an fast jedem Hindernis steht nochmal ein Guide für Erklärungen oder zur Hilfe bereit.

Am Ende des Parcours erreicht ihr die Staumauer. Hier könnt ihr nochmal tolle Fotos machen – die Steinformationen sind wirklich beeindruckend! Zurück geht es dann mit kleinen Ruderbooten, die von Guides bedient werden (und teilweise weit über die Belastungsgrenze beladen werden – wir saßen fast im Wasser…).

Für die besten Fotos und Videos von eurer Reise – jetzt im Angebot:*

Kurz zusammengefasst:

 

In der Nähe

  • La Quemada: Schicke kleine Ausgrabungsstätte südlich von Zacatecas, lohnt sich für einen Kurztrip
  • Zacatecas: Hauptstadt des gleichnamigen Bundesstaates; ein Besuch lohnt sich – es gibt ein tolles Museum in einer Mine (unbedingt eine Tour buchen; Samstagabend öffnet ein Club in der Mine), eine Seilbahn über die Stadt auf den Cerro de la Brufa, interessante Museen und viel Flair
  • Aguascalientes: Hauptstadt des gleichnamigen Bundesstaates, es gibt einige Museen, Stadt ist jedoch hauptsächlich während der Feria San Marcos interessant

Lecker kochen wie die Mexikaner:*

 

Fazit Parque Aventura Boca de Túnel

Boca de Túnel lohnt sich für einen tollen Tagesausflug am Wochenende oder in Verbindung mit La Quemada und Zacatecas. Die Klettertour ist anspruchsvoll und nichts für Personen mit Höhenangst. Ihr solltet zeitig kommen, denn je mehr Personen sich auf dem Parcours befinden, desto länger dauert es (zumal Mexikaner überall Stunden für Selfies brauchen und es kaum eine Möglichkeit zum Überholen gibt). Mir hat die Tour super gefallen und bei dem ein oder anderen Element war mir ganz schön mulmig zumute^^.

Genutzte Tags des Beitrags
, , , , , ,

1 Kommentar

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Mit dem Nutzen des Kommentarbereiches erklären Sie sich mit der Datenschutzerklärung einverstanden!